"Welcome to the Baylor County Free Library in Seymour, Texas."
The Baylor County Free Library celebrated its centennial year in 2012 -- 100 years of serving patrons in Seymour and Baylor County.
Mrs. J.M. Roach, one of the founding members of the Pierian Club, was the first to suggest buying books and establishing a library. This was started on a small scale in 1912. Through many years and many moves, the library was kept open two afternoons a week by the membership. New books were secured through donations or purchased with library dues and fines. From 1933-1936, a librarian's salary was available through the Works Progress Administration (WPA). When this terminated, the Chamber of Commerce came to the rescue and paid the librarian's salary for a while.
In 1950 the Pierian Club library became the Baylor County Free Library, through the combined efforts of Mrs. Lincoln Burns, Mrs. J.M. Edwards, members of the County and State Aid to Libraries Boards, the County Judge and the Commissioner's Court for Baylor County.
The library, located in the Baylor County Courthouse, now boasts seven public access computers,all equipped with internet service, as well as a collection of over 24,000 books, audio books, e-books, movies and music CD's for checkout. Patrons also enjoy access to electronic databases through the TexShare Databases; computer classes offered free through the Friends of the Library; and Interlibrary Loan in which materials not available at the Baylor County Free Library may be borrowed from another library.